Lucas County ARES, Inc (the business part of LCARES) is overseen by a board of 8 "At-Large-Trustees". Four elected officials are chosen each year to serve a 2 year term. The current Lucas County Emergency Coordinator is an ex-offico member of the board. The job of the trustees is to regularly review our bylaws and to increase our effectiveness and represent the organization, it's membership, and the county effectively. Annual elections are typically held in the fall of each year. In order to serve as a Lucas County ARES Trustee, you must be at least 18 years of age, must be a licensed amateur radio operator in good standing with the FCC, and must be a registered member of Lucas County ARES, also in good standing.

The Current "At-Large-Trustees" of LCARES, Inc. are as follows:

Trustee Name/Position FCC Callsign (Click to Email) Elected Years
Richard Brownlee - President KA9IVY 2016 - 2018
Brian Harrington - Treasurer WD8MXR 2016 - 2018
Brent Stover - Statutory Agent WD8PNZ 2016 - 2018
Rick Sharpe K8RKS 2016 - 2018
Tom Szuba - Vice President K8XXA 2017 - 2019
Tim Gray - Secretary KD8IZU 2017 - 2019
Chuck Krukowski KB8FXJ 2017 - 2019
Mike Farkas N8GBU 2017 - 2019
Lowell "Skeet" Kern KD8KXD Lucas County EC

Trustees, Board Members, and Lucas County ARES members receive no compensation for their service (no FCC licensed Amateur Radio operator may do so). 

It is beneficial to also have passed certain FEMA courses (ICS-100, ICS-200, ICS-700, and ICS-800) at a minimum.

Certain drills and events may also require you to be at least 18 years of age, require additional security clearances and background checks, and/or specific knowledge that may be applicable to the served agency. Specific ARES members may be chosen and deployed to assist a served agency depending on their training, knowledge, equipment and capabilities.